I am curious as to how people know about their friends on myLot...

@patgalca (14557)
Orangeville, Ontario
May 19, 2007 11:02pm CST
I have seen so many discussions from people about being deleted by a friend, deleting a friend, or not being accepted as a friend when requested. What I don't understand is how do you know you have been deleted as a friend, or rejected as a friend request? Do you get a notification? Or do you check out your friends list every day and run through every single friend to see if they are still there? I am just curious because there have been so many discussions on this and I have yet to see for myself any of this happening to me, to my knowledge.
2 people like this
5 responses
@maddysmommy (16235)
• United States
29 May 07
I actually don't check to see if friends have deleted me from there list or if they have dissapeared from my list. There are too many on my list so I just leave it as it is. If they have a reason for deleting me then that is fine, I don't mind at all because I have 50 other friends to keep responding to, so its all good. I know you can check whether a friend hasn't added you to their list because they appear in one of the options under friends. I give them a day or two and if they haven't added me then I just cancel the request.
@maddysmommy (16235)
• United States
6 Jun 07
Thank your for best response.
@twils2 (1812)
• United States
20 May 07
Well, I couldnt sit and name off everyone on my friends list but I know how many friends I have on my list and I know the friends I've requested from day to day. If I notice one missing, I would look to see who, I probably wont figure it out at first but when I see a post from someone on my list, I recognize either the user name or the avatar.I dont really check my list everyday, but on my main page, it has the number of friends that you have. I was deleted once and about a week later this person had a discussion about how she felt bad about deleting a bunch a friends because they werent responding to her discussions. The funny thing was that two days before she deleted me I did respond to one of her discussions, but I just figured that if she didnt want me on her list-so be it. The only reason I ever deleted anyone was because they were inactive for more than a month. The point is I do notice and check. Take care, Terry
@patgalca (14557)
• Orangeville, Ontario
20 May 07
I really don't take any notice to stuff like that. I spend enough time on here without having to check out my friends list. I would hope friends wouldn't delete me for not responding to their discussions because the only reason I wouldn't do so is if I have nothing to say. I'm certainly not going to say "I have nothing to say about this" like I have seen on some discussions.
1 person likes this
@ryanphil01 (4186)
• Philippines
21 May 07
it's just i don't have that much time checking my friend's list all the time. true to what you said, i really find it overloading on my part if i still see my friend's list if it has decreased in number or not. it's no way for me memorizing all the names of my friends. however, the easiest way to know that your friends are still your friends is when you still see them around posting discussions. check the left hand side of your profile and see the discussions your friends started. but that doesn't mean that when a friend of yours has not posted any topic he/she isn't in your list anymore.
• Singapore
20 May 07
You don't get any notifications. However, if you 2 were friends and suddenly no more, you will find that the person will (1) disappear from your friend list (2) on his profile page, you can't send message anymore, you will get a request friend button instead like long ago (3) you stop receiving notifications from his new discussions (4) etc. When you send a friend request, the profile page of that person will show a request pending. When he deletes your request, that message will disappear. You will get a new option to request to be his friend again. If you do it another time and it is back to basics, it means he just doesn't want to have anything to do with you. Blacklist him, move on. :P
@Woodpigeon (3710)
• Ireland
20 May 07
I don't think you get a notification about anything. Just one day you are no longer on their list. You don't get notified about their discussions in Discussions my friends have started', but you might see one of theirs listed in hot topics or top discussions. I think when you get to a point of having a certian number of friends, it'd be tough to know one way or the other unless you responded and vice versa to lots of their discussions. But then, it wouldn't be too likely that you would get deleted by those people, would it?