after deleting from the recycle bin.. where do the files go?
June 2, 2007 4:20am CST
When you delete a file, it goes to your recycle bin which is the trash bin of the computer. now, when you erase everything on your recycle bin.. where does it go? Basically, this is what happens, the deleted files from the bin goes to a spot on your hard drive where in the operating system makes this file hidden only detecting its origin. now, why is it hidden?? of course! because microsoft doesn't want you to see it since you have already deleted it. but even though this file still hiddenly exist, once you have entered a new data that requires more hard disk space, the operating sytem will then overwrite the hidden deleted file. once it is overwritten, the old file is gone and is now replaced with the new entered file. This is also the reason why some programs can actually retrieve the deleted files. they trace it back for you to retrieve it. they reveal it making it "exist" again. but once a file has been overwritten, there will be no way for you to retrieve it.
2 Jun 07
that's a great piece of informaton, cherrylaine!! i didnot know that, however it had occured to me once or twice. now, i know how can softwares retrive deleted files on the computer. what about (obsolete) floppys or flash drives? after deleted the file where does it go?
2 Jun 07
when it comes to flash drives, it goes with the same concept.. when you delete them the file gets hidden until another new file overwrites them.. the deleted file from a flash drive remains on the flash drive This explains the reason why when we erase something direct from the flash drive, the file doesn't go straight to recycle bin anymore.. it remains there.. remains hidden.. until overwritten..
2 Jun 07
thank you.. im really into computers.. softwares particularly.. im fond of reading articles about how softwares work or anything about computers.. if you have any questions feel free to ask.. i'll be honest if i can't answer your question right.. :) Thank you again and God Bless!