What's the Point of myLot's "Approve New Friends"?

United States
October 28, 2006 8:41am CST
Does anyone know the point of "Approve New Friends" in your "friends" section? There's a user listed in my section with approve or deny options. Why do I need to do this? I figure if I approve, this user will be added to my friends, but what does this accomplish?
1 person likes this
3 responses
@Force_Fed (748)
• United States
28 Oct 06
I think what it does is let you know more easily when a friend posts something. That way if you want to keep track of a certain person's topics, you'll know when they have posted. Force
1 person likes this
• United States
28 Oct 06
Okay, that seems useful, but why should someone have to get approval from a user to monitor their discussions? I don't have to ask the columnists in my newspaper or the bloggers on public websites if I'm allowed to check in on what they've written or posted, so why do I need to do it here? It seems like another way to lose privacy on myLot. I do look for posts by certain myLot users, but many of them are not my friends, and I'd rather they not know I'm reading their public posts.
• United States
28 Oct 06
also, I think that you can only receive myLot mail from your friends. This way there's a a way to prevent spam from getting to your myLot mailbox.
• United States
28 Oct 06
Really?! Is there a way to shut that off? I'd rather receive myLot messages from anyone who tries to send, and then if I find out they've sent me spam, I should be able to block them at that point, not before. I'm not receiving a lot of messages here anyway. What you're saying goes against the way Internet mail usually works.
• United States
28 Oct 06
I'm not sure if there's a way to shut this off or not. I just tried to send you a PM and I received the following message. This user is not on your friends list. If you wish to send a message to this user, then you must first submit a friend request, and the user must accept that request.
• United States
28 Oct 06
Gosh, what a stupid "feature"! Thank you for testing that. I hope myLot gives us a way to shut that off -- I certainly don't want to add every user to my friends list just in case someone tries to send me a message!
• United States
10 May 08
I agree with the above posts, it's so that they can have easier access to the discussions you start and you to theirs. It also allows them to be able to send you private messages if you like. Having you approve them gives you the choice as to whether or not you want to have this person on your list and their ability to send you these messages.