3 Balls..... 3 Different overs .......But its a HAT-TRICK?

India
March 9, 2010 1:56am CST
hi friends. we have seen it a lot of time bowlers taking hat-tricks in the same over. we have even seen players take Hat-trick in 2 overs.that is 2 wickets in the last 2 balls of the over and one wicket in the first ball of next over. but i was rather surprised to hear that someone took 3 wickets from 3 overs but recorded as hat-trick. the news was merve hughes,the australian bowler,took a wicket of the last ball and then another wicket in the first ball of his next over.it is also the last wicket so in the next innings when he bowled,he got wicket of the first ball making it 3 wickets from 3 consecutive deliveries. how about that?
5 responses
• India
9 Mar 10
oh i have not heard it. but when did it happen? but i think it should not be treated as hat trick because he took the wicket in different innings.
@siliguri (4224)
• India
9 Mar 10
I'm not agree with you..because he had taken in same match doesn't matter whether he had taken in different innings...
• India
9 Mar 10
i posted my personal opinion only. but it may be treated as hat trick as per rules. but what i feel is that its not fair to treat this as hat trick. [b]when some one score 90 runs in first innings and stays not out and scores 10 runs in second innings, then will you accept it as a century? so in thinking in the same way its not a hat trick.[/b]
• India
9 Mar 10
actually i was watching the ODI match between aussies and kiwis today and one of the commentators spotted merve hughes in the crowd and gave this piece of news to his fellow commentator. i didnt even think of confirming this report because he is someone i respect eventhough i dont know his name
@Chikezie (386)
• Malaysia
10 Jun 12
Sure it is meant to be a hat-trick. Well I think that the game is revolutionizing. We should not expect 3 wicket to counted another way but the way it was counted
• New Zealand
11 Mar 10
Yes, it's an hat-trick? Now only you know that? It was been like that always. Say for example, a bowler picks up the last wicket of the innings and the first couple of wickets in the next innings, it count as an hat-trick as well. But its kinda freaky right? I would rather prefer an hat-trick to be a 3 consecutive wicket of the same over, let alone the innings. That is where the real talent get displayed.
@siliguri (4224)
• India
9 Mar 10
Everything is possible in cricket nothing is surprising in this also...yeah it is hatrick...because he had taken 3 wickets in a continue 3 balls and in same match doesn't matter he had taken in different over or different innings...have a nice day...
@sree1412 (208)
• India
9 Mar 10
Thanks for the information i didn't knew it.yes, its a hattick.