I would recommend this book, especially if you enjoy shorter books

@oldchem1 (8145)
June 19, 2010 11:01am CST
The book is a lovely little book called [i]Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day and is written by Winifred Watson 'Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day'[/i] reads like a fairy story, it is like a modernized version of Cinderella, when I say modernized I am referring to the 1930's. Really finding this book for me was like finding hidden treasure. The book had been published in 1938 and then seemed to disappear. When Persephone Books was looking for title suggestions, Henrietta Twycross-Martin took in her mother's battered copy to the London office and the book was reprinted in 2000. Persephone concentrates in forgotten classics - "mainly neglected fiction and non-fiction by women, for women and about women." I loved the structure of the book where each chapter is divided into hourly time periods from 9:15am to 3:47m the following morning. I read this book in a little over two hours - and how I enjoyed it, I think I could go as far as to say that I enjoyed it as much as Miss Guinevere Pettigrew enjoyed her day! Please, please do read this book
1 person likes this
11 responses
• Philippines
19 Jun 10
I will try to find one here in the Philippines. I love reading classic books. The last classic book I read was Pride and Prejudice. Lol.
1 person likes this
@oldchem1 (8145)
19 Jun 10
This is wonderful, the characters in it are absolutely adorable and the whole feel of the book is alluring, glamorous and special. It is just the book to read after a particularly hard day at work or a stressful day with the kids, but be warned, you won't put it down until it’s finished!
1 person likes this
@karen1969 (1788)
19 Jun 10
Pride and Prejudice is one of my all time favourite books!
@topffer (27765)
• France
19 Jun 10
I did not read the book but saw the movie by Bharat Nalluri last year. It is a sort of screwball comedy with an old look, against the actual current. I found it very good.
1 person likes this
@oldchem1 (8145)
20 Jun 10
OOPs put my response in wrong place, look above!!
• Philippines
19 Jun 10
Hi Oldchem1, Next time I visit the bookstore I'll look for it. I hope I can find it here. Sounds like a good read and any book that would most likely be covered in as little as 2 hours to finish is quite appealing to me. Thanks for the recommendation. Have a nice day!
1 person likes this
@oldchem1 (8145)
20 Jun 10
I have heard of the film but never seen it, I must get the DVD
@puccagirl (7316)
• Israel
20 Jun 10
Sounds like an interesting book, I never heard about this one before, so thanks for the tip! Will try to find it, to see if it lives up to your recommendation! ;)
@oldchem1 (8145)
20 Jun 10
I do hope that you do now!! I'm sure that you will.
@suehan1 (4356)
• Australia
20 Jun 10
This book sounds good, it will make a nice change to read something a little bit more fun. I am usually reading thrillers like Patricia Cornwell. I will look out for it, thanks for the suggestion.
@oldchem1 (8145)
20 Jun 10
I have read a few Patricia Cornwell books and enjoyed them,hope you enjoy this one!
• United States
19 Jun 10
Okay I should really look for this book. I can't find it in any book store anywhere. My first encounter with this story was on film. Amy Adam was in it, as well as few notable actors most of which I can't remember. I enjoyed the film but it didn't really occur to me that it's a Cinderella Story. Learning this from you, it makes sense. I will definitely buy the first copy I lay my eyes on. Thanks for the recommendation!
@oldchem1 (8145)
20 Jun 10
Hope you enjoy it as much as the film, I am still to see the film
@karen1969 (1788)
19 Jun 10
I read this recently and loved it too. I reviewed the film on Ciao and Dooyoo, as I got that on DVD after reading and loving the book. You should see the film too! They really keep the atmosphere well and it is wonderfully charming, just like the book!
@oldchem1 (8145)
20 Jun 10
I shall have a read - I must get the DVD and see how I think it compares
@sahm01 (22)
• United States
22 Jun 10
Thanks for the advise! I loved the movie so I bet the book is awesome!
@tomitomi (5441)
• Singapore
20 Jun 10
Mmm! Would make a nice gift for someone. Thanks oldchem.
@emine08 (1531)
• Indonesia
20 Jun 10
hi oldchem, actually i just read this in here and it sounds interesting to read. but i don't know whether there is this book in my country or not. nice post.
@allamgirl (2145)
• Philippines
20 Jun 10
it sounds lovely. i would try to find it. and oh, thanks for sharing it to everyone!