Social Network Suicide

@SViswan (12072)
India
February 8, 2011 10:28pm CST
Those disillusioned with their virtual friends circle are saying goodbye through web applications that wipe out their net identity. This is known as Social Network Suicide! I have friends who are bored with Facebook/Orkut and stop using these sites. I'm not sure if that is counted as suicide. Why would one need an application to deactivate their account when there in an option to deactivate one's account without 'killing' oneself?!?
4 people like this
2 responses
@dpk262006 (56104)
• Delhi, India
9 Feb 11
Hi SV! I think it is another way of attracting users towards such social networking sites. People want to do something 'new' and therefore, the administrators would have introduced this kind of application. I understand that once we become a member of any site our record is retained permanently in their site, even if deleted by us on the surface.
2 people like this
@SViswan (12072)
• India
10 Feb 11
It's not the administrators of the site who have made this software. It's a stand alone separate software which can be used in any site. The records being retained permanently can happen even when we delete using any application.....or else the deletion has to happen at the server level.
@dpk262006 (56104)
• Delhi, India
10 Feb 11
.....meaning thereby that our records on the site are not easy to erase, even if we stop going to those sites permanently.
1 person likes this
@SViswan (12072)
• India
14 Feb 11
Yes! One of the downsides of being on the net!
@Lakota12 (42684)
• United States
9 Feb 11
that part dont make since , since ya can stop anytime and take yourself off of FB or any other place.
@SViswan (12072)
• India
10 Feb 11
That's what I was wondering. But as pointed out by the first person who responded...suspending the account and deleting the account are two different things. Maybe there is no option for deleting the account as yet?
@Lakota12 (42684)
• United States
10 Feb 11
like here if they ban you your prifile is still there. also used to be even if a person had passed away they were still here. Lots of people my friends that I havent heard fron in along long time are still here so they can come back any time they want which is a good thing I think
@SViswan (12072)
• India
14 Feb 11
I think if they ban a user, the profile goes too. But if a user chooses to stop using mylot, the profile stays.