Those gluten free cereals give so many 'this does not contain'
April 17, 2013 10:12am CST
I have a slight wheat allergy, and so I have been eating gluten free cereal. But according to what I read on the packages, i am supposed to be allergic to milk, nuts, animal protein, etc. Now since gluten free means that one cannot eat the type of protein that is in wheat, then why mention meat protein. Does that mean that those who are allergic to wheat cannot eat anything that contains protein, even that in beans? Look if the cereal is to be gluten free, it has to be only gluten free, not milk free, not nut free, - of course with animal protein, it would have to be in the freezer not on the self, so that is a non issue. I mean does that also mean that I have to give up all nuts as well? This is ridiculous. It is just wheat and possibly yeast that I have to be careful about, not milk, nuts, or protein. I guess those who have to give up gluten have to also give up nuts, milk, and protein according to those warnings on the gluten free cereal boxes. How ridiculous. Your take, mylotters.
• Shingle Springs, California
17 Apr 13
All I can say is you have to read labels very, very carefully. You cannot assume that if something is gluten free, lactose free, or whatever, that it is safe for you without looking at all the other ingredients too.
1 person likes this
18 Apr 13
I read the label before I bought it. I do not want anything with trans fats or too much salt. It just contains rice, plus salt rice flour, and none of the other ingredients. That is all that they needed to say, not write down it is lactrose free, or whatever. And even though I have astigmatism and am slightly far-sighted, I know that rice is gluten-free and they wrote it on the label, and if one reads the label, one can see no milk or nuts in it. Since it did not have those other ingredients in it. Also not being a dummy, I know enough to read the labels and enough to go where it is light enough if the text is too close to the background. It is just that it gives people the wrong idea by adding those other warnings, that if you have to have a gluten free diet, you cannot eat nuts, milk, protein of any kind and that may damage someone's health if they are not as intelligent like me and check things out.
18 Apr 13
this discussion and the comments in it have made perfect sense to me. I can only add one small observation. I've tasted gluten free products and they are missing something. I've tried adding butter or fruit spread or anything else that might improve the taste. I thought well it tastes ok but it is still missing something? That is when it hit me. I know what is missing. It is gluten! They should add gluten free wheat gluten.
• United States
17 Apr 13
Having a wheat allergy doesn't mean that you are allergic to the gluten in it. I can't have any kind of corn protein, and I'm wary of corn sugars, but, unlike many, I can handle a some. I am allergic to sugar (from the cane not the beet) too, but unlike some people who can't handle any highly refined foods, I can. That is why I can handle corn syrup. I wouldn't worry about other kinds of proteins, if they aren't bothering you. After all, the protein you get in other forms aren't gluten. And I don't know if avoiding gluten is helping with your wheat allergy, it didn't make one for me.