Could a Browser update create false positives with social media security?

Dallas, Texas
March 26, 2016 10:20am CST
If you have an account with Facebook and you have ever been told you need to change your password then this discussion is for you. I recently logged into my Facebook account, often I forget to log out at the end of a session as I use Facebook 24/7 almost. It is like an open communications network with my family and friends and my followers. What happened before I was notified by Facebook security when I went to my timeline was that I was informed that an attempt, an unauthorized attempt to gain access to my account was prevented but it was necessary for security purposes to change my password. Now, this would have been suspicious if it had come to me in an email but then it could just as easily be legitimate. In security settings notifications are optional for both email alerts or site alerts when and if another user tries to gain access to my account or my wall using anything other than a computer with my specific IP address and a device different than my windows PC and from a browser other than Firefox. It so happens that my browser emulates Firefox but is actually SeaMonkey as both browsers are a Mozilla product and have shared codes and it seems that Facebook recognizes my browser as Firefox not SeaMonkey. I got an auto update to my browser a few days ago. It has suddenly occurred to me that maybe quite possibly, that update to my browser caused a false positive at their end, that is, at the server end of Facebook and their security system interpreted my updated browser as unfamiliar. If that is the case I have been worried needlessly over an intrusion attempt by a hacker when it may have actually only been my updated browser that signed into Facebook but was thought by their security programs to be an intrusion. I have to do more research on this to determine if such issues are related to Firefox or SeaMonkey upgrades or updates to learn more.
5 people like this
4 responses
@DWDavis (10915)
• Pikeville, North Carolina
26 Mar 16
I have my browser set to delete history upon sign out to save space so every time I log in to FB I get a message telling me there has been a sign in from the browser and asking if it was me.
3 people like this
• Dallas, Texas
26 Mar 16
That would be cookies were deleted and as a precaution you were asked to authenticate. This is a good security measure. But I have to add, if your memory is too low to store history would it be possible for you to just delete an unwanted application that you never use to allow space for your history or do you delete history as a security measure? Some do this for that reason.
2 people like this
@DWDavis (10915)
• Pikeville, North Carolina
27 Mar 16
@lookatdesktop I delete history and cookies for security reasons when I close my browser. I do try to keep unused applications off the hard drive.
1 person likes this
• Dallas, Texas
27 Mar 16
@DWDavis That is what I figured. I delete tracking cookies from my hard drive as an option when I run Norton.
1 person likes this
@aju007 (1484)
• Thiruvananthapuram, India
26 Mar 16
I think it happens mainly when the location and IP addresses are different. I never had similar experience with different browsers. Did you get an email about the problem?
2 people like this
• Dallas, Texas
26 Mar 16
No because when I went to FB security options I had failed to allow notifications or they were inadvertently altered by the potential hacker.
1 person likes this
@aju007 (1484)
• Thiruvananthapuram, India
27 Mar 16
@lookatdesktop Once I got an email with place name where someone tried to access my account and facebook refused the access. It was in my country but was very far my place. I had my password changed immediately.
1 person likes this
• Dallas, Texas
27 Mar 16
@aju007 My email said it was from about 400 miles south west from my city. I also changed my password. This is a good thing to do to be on the safe side.
1 person likes this
@akalinus (12377)
• United States
26 Mar 16
I am always getting login alerts. I often clear my history, caches, cookies etc. I get the notices when I log in from FireFox which they always see as a new browser. I cannot convince them that it is a browser that I often use. I don't know what to do about this situation. Someone attempted to access my gmail a while back. I had to change the password and now have to put it in every time. It is so complicated that sometimes I can't even get into my own mail. I love computers, I hate computers.
1 person likes this
• Dallas, Texas
26 Mar 16
If you have an antivirus software application you don't have to delete your cookies in the browser unless you feel like it but you can let your antivirus program scan for the types of cookies known as tracking cookies which it usually will delete during a scan as a precaution against malware and spyware.
@akalinus (12377)
• United States
26 Mar 16
@lookatdesktop I go on earning sites and they will not credit unless the browser is clean. I have an antivirus and MalwareBytes Premium and still get messed up on my computer sometimes.
@andriaperry (35889)
• Anniston, Alabama
26 Mar 16
Once but I went and asked the site why and I found out that it was a hacker wanting my password.
1 person likes this
• Dallas, Texas
26 Mar 16
Were they able to find out for you who the hacker actually was and if they had an account at the site you were on? In any event, it is a relief to have them set you with a new password just to be safe and keep the potential hacker at bay.