P.O.A.D. : Account Suspended

United States
July 25, 2007 12:49pm CST
I was surfing yesterday, as usual, when I happened upon a plain gray page with a darker gray header that read: Account Suspended I reported the page to the admin of the exchange where I was surfing att, to discover that this suspended page was Power of A Dollar, aka P.O.A.D. ...this is why I do not recommend promoting crap that hasn't paid anybody yet. Lead someone to a scam, the likelihood of that person (or a whole downline of people) following you on the next "big" thing is slim to none. Patience ladies and gents. TEST a program, make sure it isn't bogus, THEN tell your downlines and optins about it. When they succeed, you succeed...and the likelihood of your downlines following you into future ventures is much greater, making the endless search for "fresh blood" in your downlines and mailing lists a much smaller priority. Yeah, $11 ain't much to lose, but in the long run, the trust of your referrals & readers is worth its weight in gold.
3 people like this
6 responses
@totty1969 (1468)
• United States
25 Jul 07
I am a little pissed off "world leader" my @ss, I waisted two whole days getting all kinds of Traffic exchanges for what. Now I have to close my email account because I'll never get rid of all the junk emails from all those other sites. It really makes me mad when crap like this happens and I had 57 referrals, how do I explain this. It says contact server.... HOW???? I dont know where to begin. I will not do that again.
3 people like this
• United States
28 Jul 07
Thanks for keeping me posted. The page isn't loading to the forum link right now. Getting a "firefox can't find the server" message. I'll try again later. Could be because I have 6 windows and 7 tabs open. Working, can't close them right now, lol.
1 person likes this
@totty1969 (1468)
• United States
28 Jul 07
Hey there, I want to do a follow up on this topic. I sent an email to Joseph Tackett (bluetruck) @ POAD and he replied with an explaination for the suspended account. If you want to read it here is the link http://thepowerofadollar.myfastforum.org/July_24_2007_about4723.html I think I will stick around for a while to see where this goes, he says we can hold off on the $11.00 til they get the site up and running with no problems. As for all the contacts you are right I can use them in other places. I just thought you would like to know what is going on. Peace, Totty
2 people like this
@wolfie34 (26770)
• United Kingdom
25 Jul 07
I am a member of this site, and no one pays apparently until the big launch on August 1st. However I'm glad you noticed that account suspended when you tried to view the page, because I thought it was my account that had been suspended and I got worried! I would only rely on my sisters and partner before I invested. I have promoted it I hold my hands up to it, I thought it was only a glitch whilst they were upgrading their site, maybe they gave up! Least I didn't lose a cent. Thank you at least it's not me!
3 people like this
• United States
26 Jul 07
If they go back up, I'll be amazed. Sometimes accounts get accidentally suspended, but usually not this long. Accidents usually are caught within minutes/hours, not days. I read around in some other forums where a lot of experienced marketers were ragging on it not too long ago, so I wasn't really surprised when this happened. Glad you didn't lose any money tho...didn't realize it was free to join. I had been under the impression that it cost $11 to join...but like I said, I wasn't even tempted, so I didn't read about it further.
1 person likes this
@sharone74 (4837)
• United States
27 Jul 07
True said V.I. People don't stop to think about those things when they are excited about a new program and they are seeking downliners to bring into the fold. Often people tend to forget that the people that they know on the web are not neccessarily honest or whom they say they are or who they appear to be online. There are a lot of unscrupulous people on the internet that are con artists and theives and they will lead you and anyone else to beleive their scam with no conscience at all. So insuring that the site is a paying site first is paramount before you go referring anyone into a downline program. Many people here on my lot just got a healthy dose of that with the siten Dorm Check, which is no longer a paying site.
@Phlamingho (7822)
• Denmark
25 Jul 07
Yeah that sounds like another scam program, I see a lot of those account suspended every week - damn scammers :-(
3 people like this
• United States
26 Jul 07
I wasn't even tempted to mess with it. Thanks for stopping by.
1 person likes this
@kelly60 (4546)
• United States
26 Jul 07
Yep, I got the Account Suspended page too, and I had only been a member for a few hours. I hadn't even had a chance to do anything wrong yet :P
2 people like this
• United States
30 Jul 07
Apparently they switched servers without notifying their members. POAD is back up now.
@lexus54 (3572)
• Singapore
26 Jul 07
Prudent advice you are giving here, and I agree with this approach. But I have been in a number of surfing and hyip sites, where I do my due diligence to check out the site and forums, and know that they are definitely paying before I join them, but after some time (some even a very short while after), some of these sites still end up scamming me or get their accounts suspended. What I am saying is what happens in the past doesn't necessarily happen in the future. You can make sure first that a site pays before you promote, but you can never be sure how long more this will happen after you tell the whole world about it. That's the serious downside about internet money making schemes.
2 people like this