Watch out for 123 Greetings, there is an imposter.

@dragon54u (31633)
United States
January 25, 2010 3:11pm CST
I just got an email saying a family member sent me a greeting card from 123 Greetings.com. This just doesn't happen to me, last time I got a virtual card was years ago. So I looked in Google "is 123 greetings safe?" and found that they assign a 20 digit number to each card. My number was 31 digits and letters. I went to the site and input the number and there was no such number. I have to conclude that this was a bid to have me click on a link and be taken somewhere and be given a virus or something. So watch out for these virtual greeting cards! It didn't catch me this time as I'm always on my guard. Have you received anything like this lately?
2 people like this
11 responses
@polachicago (18716)
• United States
25 Jan 10
I don't like those cards. Most of them have spyware attached. It makes me very upset, because family has good intentions with bad results. I told my friends and family not to send me any electronic cards.
2 people like this
@dragon54u (31633)
• United States
25 Jan 10
I've told all my family and friends the same thing. We used to enjoy these things until the bad guys figured out how to use them. I remember sending a couple every day to one person or another and getting some, too. They were a lot of fun but that was years ago. So now the bad guys have robbed us of the simple pleasure of a virtual greeting card.
@mentalward (14690)
• United States
26 Jan 10
No, I haven't received anything like this recently but I'm definitely going to heed your warning! I don't get cards from 123 Greetings (or any other ecard site) very often but do get them occasionally. I didn't know about the 20-digit and letter assigned to each one. I'll make sure to count them if I ever do receive another email saying it's from 123 Greetings. Thanks for the heads up! I think internet criminals are getting more and more desperate these days and will stop at nothing to get whatever they can from us, even if it's just our peace of mind from a virus-free computer. Even when we get emails that claim they are from our friends or family, we can't be too careful.
@dragon54u (31633)
• United States
26 Jan 10
The 20 digits are what convinced me not to open it--"20 digits", not digits and letters as my code had. I wish we could catch all these people and take turns slapping them.
@mentalward (14690)
• United States
26 Jan 10
That would be the perfect punishnment! LOL Let everyone they sent these emails to have the opportunity to smack them silly. Seeing as how they probably send out thousands of these emails, they'd wish they had never heard of the internet by the time everyone was finished with them.
@cher913 (25781)
• Canada
26 Jan 10
i get emails like this all the time at work but i never open them because my hubby is the only one that sends me cards and we use dayspring for them.
1 person likes this
@dragon54u (31633)
• United States
27 Jan 10
That's very sweet of him to send you cards! I've never gotten many and my ex never sent me any ecards. I used to send a lot of them but not any longer because of all the viruses and imposters.
• United States
26 Jan 10
This is scary - thanks for the warning. I'm sure you're right that if you had opened it, you'd have gotten a virus or something. It seems you can't trust anything any more and they're constantly trying new ways to trick their way into our computers. Thanks again
1 person likes this
@dragon54u (31633)
• United States
26 Jan 10
It's so sad that these scammers will target the way we try to be nice to our friends and family. If they would use their creativity for good, they would probably be rich!
@hexeduser22 (7418)
• Philippines
26 Jan 10
I don't know about that site but thanks for the heads up. I got a similar experience once and the site was whoremembersme.com They said someone had left me a message but before I can read that message I need to sign up first and provide ten email addresses of people I knew to verify if those people have some message left for them too. I was in a computer shop so I was confident to do anything. I entered some email address of my contacts then pressed submit. I kept getting the error that those email address I entered was not a valid one and after so many tries I gave up on it. I think it was phishing mail or something
1 person likes this
@dragon54u (31633)
• United States
27 Jan 10
If you are required to give up email addresses before you can access something, it's a scam. I don't know of any legitimate services that require that--it's a great way of building up their spam email lists!
• United States
26 Jan 10
Oh how true. You were very smart to check into the site. My fiance and I always send each other cards through 123 greetings. When you receive a card from someone they will actually tell you in the subject line from what email address the card is from. The legitimate site does not just say from a family member (come on how would they know it was family,it could be a friend) I do keep finding emails in my spam box that claim 123 greeting is sending me an update or a newsletter. I never open these because I know that isn't how 123 greeting works and they have been white listed so it would go to my in box not my spam. I figure like you either viruses or someone trying to scam something. So I just delete them.
1 person likes this
@dragon54u (31633)
• United States
26 Jan 10
I used to send cards through 123 greetings all the time. Now, with all the viruses and scam sites, I'm afraid to. I won't open any card anymore--not that I get any legitimate ones. All my friends and family are scared to use e-card services. That's really sad.
• United States
25 Jan 10
No I haven't but thanks for the warning!
1 person likes this
@Hatley (163772)
• Garden Grove, California
25 Jan 10
hi dragon54u oh yes and my AVG 9 was right on top of it, do not open, virus,virus put in vault. oh those greeting card emails things are so dangerous. I learned the hard way and at that time had Nortons but nortons had a flaw and let my computer get really messed up. My son had to eradicate the virus by using his computer to do so.never again I do not download anything. not unless my friends tell me they are sending me something and it has to be a certain time certain day. my avg9 is so good and it really does its job.
1 person likes this
@dragon54u (31633)
• United States
25 Jan 10
That's what is so bad about these e-cards. You go to the site and open it, not through your email. Some people would feel safe doing so. It's a shame we can't even share virtual greeting cards anymore.
@savypat (20216)
• United States
25 Jan 10
It never ceases to amaze me how much time is spend on finding ways to spam us. Can you imagine what that energy could do in the real world? Now that is a scary thought.
1 person likes this
@dragon54u (31633)
• United States
25 Jan 10
If they'd use that energy for legitimate purposes they would be rich!
@teamrose (1492)
• United States
26 Jan 10
Have not received this particular virus. However, I use a very good free spyware program which is constantly scanning my pc for any known viruses. Think about getting anit-virus software to put your mind at ease.
1 person likes this
@dragon54u (31633)
• United States
26 Jan 10
I do have a lot of protective software. Norton, Spyware Guard, Spybot, MalwareByte and a couple of others. I'm thinking Norton might not be the best or I don't know how to use it to scan my emails.
• United States
29 Jan 10
Thanks for the heads up!