Update on discussion - Now why would I want to be an American?

@Beertjie (977)
South Africa
June 21, 2009 2:10pm CST
Four days ago I started this discussion - Now why would I want to be an American. Some said that the ad that I was writing about might be from my own country. I saw the ad on several sites on the internet. The ad about a green card lottery program, where one can win a green card to live and work in the USA. I eventualy found thee site that is advertised. Have a look at it and tell me what you think. The link is http://www.usagc.org/step1.aspx?afk=gcPMEngleng Please, don't just read the link and then comment, open the site and comment on what your thought are. Do you think it is right that green cards be given in such a manner. I believe there are a lot of Americans who are qualified for certain jobs, but does not get the appointments, but foreigners get the job.
2 people like this
5 responses
@Rollo1 (16650)
• Boston, Massachusetts
21 Jun 09
The website you refer to is a company that charges people for immigration assistance. This is not the official site to register for the Green Card Lottery. There is a lottery in which a number of green cards are awarded by the government to applicants, called the Diversity Visa lottery, but the US government does not employ any outside consultants or private sector agencies to administrate or assist in this program. Note this at the bottom of the website page that you provided. (usagc.org website is a private entity and is not a governmental agency) * You can win an air line ticket to USA at a worth of up to €1,000 (see Terms & Conditions). Clients who purchased the "VIP Benefits" will also receive a €1,000 rebate on legal assistance; personal job search assistance and accommodation search assistance in USA (see Terms & Conditions). Unfortunately, this company is obviously just one of many that preys on people seeking green cards and work permits to enter the US.
1 person likes this
@caver1 (1765)
• United States
21 Jun 09
Checked out the link and trying to find where this Yeke Ltd company is located. Quote from the website. "Disclaimer This site is owned and operated by YEKE LTD., Agiou Andreou 332, Patrician Chambres, CY3035 Limassol, Cyprus. Yeke Ltd manages USAGC. USAGC is not in any way affiliated with or endorsed by any official US government entity or agency of any kind. USAGC is a private owned entity. " This is not from the US government or even a US company. I still think it is a scam. If someone wants to come to the US, they should go though the proper agencies. I don't know what those would be, but a little research would find them out.
1 person likes this
@oyenkai (4396)
• Philippines
23 Jun 09
The link you gave is certainly from the US and not from any other foreign country. And to think about it more: there's really no other country who would be able to work out the papers well enough to be submitted and accepted for a green card application. I do not agree that green cards should be given as prizes for lotteries. I believe that if a foreigner would be admitted in the American work force then he/she should be at least qualified for a job that the state is finding hard to fill up from their local work force. For example, I know that the US has quite enough number for the IT department and that the only reason they're importing workers is because big companies don't want to miss out on foreign talents. That is the department where although they still get foreign employees, they try their best to prioritize American. On the other hand, care-giving related positions lack in applicants, which is why hospitals and related companies actually don't have any other way than to import their lacking workers. Thanks for the response on my discussion :)
@4ftfingers (1313)
22 Jun 09
I don't understand why it's being done. Usually things like this are used to collect data or promote things, but what data can they record from this? How many people want to be in the US? It seems a bit odd really.
• Philippines
22 Jun 09
From the looks of the site. i think it's a scam, if I was a person looking desperately to work abroad and found this...there's no way am gonna hesitate and think twice of falling prey to this website.seriously i hope no ones falling prey to this kind of offer. the Country has it's worse now in terms of A(h1n1) and Financial Crisis.