Winning Ways SCAM... High Alert, Beware of this!
By wsue1023
@wsue1023 (1395)
United States
January 27, 2007 6:11pm CST
I don't exactly get this, but I just rec'd a check in the mail for $2,950 from someone claiming to be Winning Ways OnlineSweeps.com. The check looks like a real check and in fact I guess it is. The letter tells me it's mine and that I've won a larger prize of $98,000, but must cash this first.
So, I go to http://www.onlinesweeps.com/ just to see if there's anything to this and the first thing my eyes find are this warning:
**HIGH ALERT** - We have been alerted that a company located in Mississauga, ON Canada is SCAMMING people with an International Lottery using OUR NAME. We have nothing to do with this, and we arewarning you to NOT cash any checks you receive from them! This has been reported to the authorities. Please remember that you NEVER have to pay anything in order to receive a legitimate prize... We publish a newsletter with sweepstakes promotions from major US retailers, but we do not give out cash awards. Thank you for your understanding, and we are very sorry that you had to hear about our business in this awful manner.
Ok, here's what I don't get. I believe this is a scam, but why are they sending me a check and how would that hurt me? If I cash it, what could happen? Can someone educate me? How would this entitle them to anything that any other person sending me a check would have?? Basically to nothing, right? I mean it wouldn't allow them to steal money from me, would it?
Anyway, whether you know anything about this or not, I wanted to warn everyone about it. I guess we shouldn't cash these checks. I'm just not smart enough to figure out what the game is here!
Appreciate any comments you may have.
Wendy
2 responses
@wrdsofwisdm (1069)
• United States
28 Jan 07
Wendy,
It could be that the cashed check goes back to them and then they have your official signature, your address, and if you cash it at your bank, they have that information also. That could lead to identity theft.
Or it could be a loan company in disguise and somewhere in their letter is small print basically stating that once you cash that check, you have an instant loan with them plus a crazy interest charge and they make money. Good thing you checked the website.
@wsue1023 (1395)
• United States
28 Jan 07
I'm not going to cash the check. ;) Thanks for your advice!
I hope this post helps someone out there. Basically, anytime you get something in the mail or in an email that either seems to good to be true or has a funny feel to it, you should always do a little research. Hope these guys are caught before they hurt someone financially. The world is full of crooks!


