Is it true that Pakistan is out of the world cup?
March 18, 2007 9:45am CST
I am not sure what are the rules in case of a tie. I have seen reports that Pak is out. What happens if Pak beats Zim and Ireland beats WI. In that case, Ireland will qualify with 5 points. Pak and WI will be placed second with 2 points each. What will decide then, net run rate or the winner of Pak vs WI match? Anyone knows the rules?
18 Mar 07
Yes,Pakistan is out of the world cup run. Let me explain: Group D: Match 1- WI vs Pak- WI wins 2 points. Match 2- Zim vs Ire- Zim,Ire get 1 point each for a tie Match 3-Pak VS Ire- Ire wins 2 points So, by now, WI- 2 points, Ire- 3 points, Pak- 0 points and Zim- 1 point. If WI lose to Zim- Zim gets 2 points.(zim total becomes 3 points) If WI win from Zim- WI gets 2 points. (WI total becomes 4 points) If its a tie Zim total 2 points, WI total 3 points. In the next match if Pak wins then Pak total will be 2 points. And, in the last match if WI win- total of WI becomes 4/6. (6 if they win against Zim or 4 if they lose from Zim). If Ire wins- Ireland total 5) Therefore, Pakistan does not qualify because even if they get 2 points against Zim and WI loses, Zim and Ire will qualify and otherwise WI and Ireland win), If Zim wins from both Pak and WI, then it will qualify with either Ireland or WI. Pakistan does not hold any chance and run rates won't matter now.
1 person likes this
18 Mar 07
pakistan is out of this world cup for sure.look WI have to maches spare one against ZIM and other against IRE.now u are saying if pak beats zim and ireland beats WI,still they cant make it because the match aginst WI an Zim will be the decider who ever wins that match they are gonna qualify to super 8.cheers.