Why only 10 or 15 countries for Cricket?

October 28, 2008 4:30am CST
Why there are only 10 to 15 countries at an international level for cricket? I wonder why many countries are not interested in cricket particularly China, USA, etc. Won't it be good if these countries are also included in the internatinal match? I know there are almost unlimited countries playing for Footbal but why not for Cricket. Is this boring sports for them?
4 responses
• Nepal
29 Oct 08
There are lot more countries playing cricket in an international level. 10-15 teams that you are talking about are only those playing in the world cup. The world cup format is made in the way that no more than 14-16 teams can participate. Among them, 10 are the test playing nations like Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Srilanka,West Indies and Zimbabwe. Others are the member countries qualified after playing in ICC Trophy. The usual names are Kenya, the Netherlands, Scotland, Ireland, Canada, and Bermuda. UAE, USA and Hongkong have also played with the test playing nations. Other major nations playing cricket continuously are Afghanistan, Nepal, Singapore, Thailand, New Jersey, Fiji, and many more. Even China and Bhutan, and also Japan are also regularly playing cricket in international level. They are associates and affiliate members of ICC.
@rony1masc (230)
• India
28 Oct 08
yup only top 10 teams are taken to play cricket in international level. yup its a boring game so only 10 teams can play with in period of 3weeks. its for worldcup. I think only 10 country teams have cricket council board on their country. other have not.
@ramangill (1479)
• India
28 Oct 08
yes it is boring sport for them,, and the few who love this game have no sponsors for cricket in their country,, they have to do their regular jobs,they can only play on weekends,, so cricket doesnt have much scope in other countries.
@Crazysah (176)
• India
28 Oct 08
There are more than 30 countries playing International ONe Day Cricket. I can give you a list if you want... There are only 10 teams playing International Test Cricket though!