What is the best solution for Writer's Block?

Philippines
June 10, 2009 5:47am CST
I'm a freelance writer and amateur journalist, and pressure gets to me a lot of times. Have you experienced Writer's Block? I have, and not just once or twice, but a lot of times. It even happens to me during times when I have to write simple review papers for plays or poetry. What's the best soluting for Writer's Block? My friend who is also a writer said she drinks hot chocolate to stimulate her brain. Hmm. What do you do?
1 person likes this
5 responses
@byfaithonly (10698)
• United States
14 Jun 09
I have to walk away from it - go for a walk, do dishes, play solitare, oh opps writters block I keep writing but do responses to discussions on mylot. Works every time, clear my head of what I'm trying to write and it makes room for fresh ideas, block is gone gotta get busy before I lose that though :)
• Australia
14 Jun 09
A great trick is to pick an item, or a topic thats relevant to you, and start writing a story about it, then and there. If you are any sort of writer, you should be ready to return to your book, article or poem before you have 5 pages of this 'impromptu' story written. Mind you, there is a good chance you may have already begun your next project.
• United States
10 Jun 09