Nanny job offer at London scam
By laniekins
@laniekins (4579)
Philippines
March 26, 2010 2:20am CST
Hey guys, have you heard of Nanny job offer in london scam? Just and experience to share with you happens sometime in January 2010.
I receive a message from Yuwie.com by one user, name Mark Steven. He don't have photo there and profile is not fully accomplish. He sent me a message saying that he was searching for a Nanny in my area. He leave his personal email for me to get back. After a month then I only red the message, I immediately response to him cause I thought this was the biggest break to work abroad. He respond to my message stating that he's seeking for Nanny for his 2 beautiful children, he explained that he prefer asian cause asian nanny is loving and caring just like biological mother does. I accepted the offer cause he offer me a very big salary. He also send me contracts and pictures of him and the kids. The offer was too good to be true except for one condition. He says that I will shoulder half of the Visa fee cause he was fooled before by his previous nanny when he shoulder full Visa Fee.
To cut the story short, he gave me his preferred agency from England. I coordinate with the agency and ask for the quotation of Visa Processing Fee. It cost so expensive that I cannot afford even the half, Mr. Steven insisted that I should shoulder the half, that's the advise from his lawyer.
I was almost believe and planning to lend money but my curiosity arise so we investigate. The placement agency looks suspicious, they don't even have website, I keep on investigating until I found the site where in the posted forum was undeniably very similar to the email that I received. I found out that it was a big scam, a hoax. It started last 2008, and many people was scammed. Thank god that I didn't send money to the traveling agency.
Lesson learned: before engaging in any offer from other people or accepting offer from stranger asking for money, please investigate first.
1 person likes this
2 responses
@ada8may21 (2404)
• Philippines
26 Mar 10
Hello laniekins, good day. I also receive an email just like what you received. It was really sounded so tempting, they even stated that you will live comfortable in their place because they will provide own room with tv and telephone. Good thing I was already warned by my boyfriend about it. He personally made an investigation about that one, i was so lucky that my boyfriend has friend near to the address that the agency gave me. So they check and look for the particular person and only to find out there is none living there in that name and when he mentioned that he is applying for nanny, he immediately banged the door and closed it.
This people would really try to steal from us third world countries, they just dont know that its our hard earned money and sometimes we could sell the wealth from our ancestors just for us to provide the money that is needed for us to get out. And knowing they are in the first world country and would still steal from us who is poor compare to them.
@ada8may21 (2404)
• Philippines
26 Mar 10
Well if only I know what to do. I guess ill do it. By the way who is yuwie?
@laniekins (4579)
• Philippines
29 Mar 10
@ada8may21
Thanks for the response, I guess I have been a fool to believe that lie, I didn't believe when my bf said that the traveling agency looks suspicious cause we couldn't find the website and the email that they sent do not contain any contact no. in the header. Guess what, the picture that they use as I think "President" of that agency was actually a Political figure in Canada. Yuwie.com is another social site that is paying by referring friends only.
@Hatley (163772)
• Garden Grove, California
27 Mar 10
hi laniekins I am so glad you were wise enough to investigate this before you had that money ripped from you, usually when something sounds too good to be true it is not true. I almost got caught in a scam , I was told I had been entered into a sweepstakes by a friend, and had won a trip to anyplace I wished to go and 20000 dollars or a prize of fifty thousand instead. i was given a phone number in Canada and Idid call there but I got this message, in order to receive your prize we need you to send us 700 dollars for taxes etc. on this prize. so now the ugly truth reared its head, there was no prize of fifty thousand ,no boat trip but an ugly sc am. Oh I forgot the first part, they had sent me what looked like a real auhentic check for guess what? 700 dollars and I was to send that in to them for this taxes and whathaveyou on the prize. we took it to the manager of our bank who at once told us it looked real but was very much bogus, if we had sent that we would be out 700 dollars plus bad check fees too. So no always investigate before doing anything when it looks too darned good to be true as it usually is not.
@laniekins (4579)
• Philippines
29 Mar 10
Thanks Hatley, I guess we have to go through that scam thing so that we know that it is a scam and warned everyone. I owe it to the forum and to the people who are brave enough to share their experiences. After I found out that it is a scam, I stop sending emails to the so called Mr. Mark Stevens, until after a week I saw him online in yahoo, I greeted him and he ask why I have no response for a long time, I said that I already know that he is a scammer. I even send him the link on the forum where his email is same as posted there. He denied the whole thing and said that he is real. He replied so slow so I just cut off the conversation and just said the he should stop what he is doing.


