Any similar fantasy books like harry potter?

Macedonia
May 3, 2009 2:57am CST
I've been reading harry potter series over and over again. I admire JK rowling for her great imagination and creativity. Anyone has read books of similar genre? Please recommend and share some titles that you think is worth reading. =)
8 responses
@sanddo (111)
• Bulgaria
12 Dec 11
I search these books, too. I was read The Chronicles of Narnia, The Chronicles of SpiderWick, Percy Jackson and the Olympians, Twilight and The Pirates of the Caribbean. Anyone of these books are so interesting and I like them. I want to read all of them again! If you aren't read these books, read it because the are similar like Harry Potter and I think that you will like it :)
• United States
18 Jun 09
you can read J.R.R.Tolkiens Lord of the rings.It is a very good series.probably the best that i have read.You can also read the bourne series of books written by robert ludlum.
• India
13 Jun 09
I would suggest you read Lord Of the Rings by JRR Tolkein and also Eragon. Both these books are really cool and i'm sure you'll enjoy reading these two books.
• United States
10 Jun 09
I loved the Harry Potter books and some of the books I've read might be what you're looking for. I'd suggest the Gemma Doyle series by Libba Bray, the first book being "A Great and Terrible Beauty."
@beki710 (949)
3 Jun 09
The Discworld Series by Terry Pratchett are amazing, there's tons of them, the first one is called "The Colour of Magic" The Twilight series are vampire ones I'm guessing you may have heard of them what with the film, they are quite teen based but I enjoyed them!
@amanda08 (647)
• United States
3 Jun 09
I think that Tery Brooks has a couple of good series... like the sword of shannara series and the Magic Kingdom series you cant go wron with either of these!!!
@Myrrdin (3601)
• Canada
6 May 09
Well there are some worthy suggestions on here. But there are some noticeable omissions. JRR Tolkien's The Hobbit is excellent, as is the follow up books, The Lord of the Rings. City of Ember is supposed to be fantastic, though I have not yet read it. The Eragon series is fantastic as well. And last but not least is Lemony Snickets "A Series of Unfortunate Events". All of these are wonderful books that fit in will with Rowling's Potter books.
• Indonesia
3 May 09
- The Bartimaeus Trilogy : lot of funny twist in the plot but definitely much darker than HP. A must list for me. - Golden Compass : Philosophy mix with fantasy. Makes us question about God presence which makes me don;t like this book too much. Too atheist IMO - Reading Books of Abarat by Clive Barker right now. Exciting to read a fantasy book with many illustrations in it. So we can really2 imagine what it is like the life in Abarat.