Deleting content

Australia
September 30, 2009 11:49pm CST
I dont understand why people delete content from their FB page. Content that they put there or conversations. Do you think it's possible that they are not aware that everyone has already seen the content in their Newsfeeds? I'm talking about things like - how they feel if their football team won, what they are doing for dinner, whether they are well or not, etc. Yet they leave things other conversations or status updates on their page. I just dont get it. Is it me? Am I reding to much into people's actions?
1 person likes this
6 responses
@Chispa514 (871)
• Montreal, Quebec
1 Oct 09
I can't speak for everyone else on facebook, but as for myself, I tend to delete things when they have been there for along time, or at the end of each day, if its nothing really important. I only keep important status updates, or important notes. Also I tend to do that with my pics too, whenever I start to have too many albums, or many months have passed since they were posted, I delete them so that I make more space for newer ones, and I upload the old ones to my piczo site and save them to cd.
• Australia
1 Oct 09
I can understand that. I should have mentioned that this is being done within minutes or hours.
1 person likes this
• Montreal, Quebec
1 Oct 09
True. I asked some of my friends on fb who I seen do that a few times, and they said that the reason they do that is because sometimes they realize that what they said sounds kind of stupid or rude even, or just that they realize that they made mistakes in their spelling.
• Australia
1 Oct 09
That makes sense. Thanks
1 person likes this
@irene3184 (900)
• Philippines
2 Oct 09
I have not encountered yet in Facebook that list of my friends delete the content. Is it possible to delete your content posted in your Facebook status?
• Australia
9 Oct 09
It sure is.
@jugsjugs (13046)
1 Oct 09
I do wipe some of mine off as i get fed up with people posting like this when i put a status about six months ago.Then there are people who add a comment as well to a status from over 6months ago.
• Australia
9 Oct 09
This I understand. Who can be bothered though?
• Indonesia
1 Oct 09
Well not all people actually reading somebody post. And with them delete it, it is mean that they know that some one might actually already read it. But they want to make a bunch of other people whose not read it already, keep not read it. Another reason is, maybe they think after a while that their post is hurting other, so they decide to remove it. It doesnt matter if people already read it, they just want to make the effect less worse.
• Australia
9 Oct 09
I guess hindsight is something that Facebook is catering to. When you put it like that, it makes more sense.
@much2say (34348)
• United States
1 Oct 09
I have one friend who has been deleting stuff off their Facebook wall, but I haven't asked her why. She often complains on her wall about her husband and kids. I know sometimes she let's her kids play some of the games on FB, so she might be deleting many of her status reports in case they start reading her wall! And I am thinking she may be afraid her husband might see her comments as well. Anyway, those are my suspicions about my FB friend.
• Australia
1 Oct 09
Yes, I can see why your friend would delete her comments ;-)
• Indonesia
2 Oct 09
Sometimes, I deleted my post in Facebook. I deleted the old post. Sometimes, I deleted post with no comment from my friend