Nancy Oliver

@Mickie30 (2626)
December 29, 2007 1:13pm CST
Hi I want to audition for the part of Nancy in Oliver and wondered if anyone has any advice about her character or about audition techniques and any advice about singing which I am not very good at. Any advice would be greatly appreciated thanks.
1 response
@lauradl (12)
29 Dec 07
Hi - you don't say where you are from, but I would say accent plays a key role in the part of Nancy. If you're English then the East London accent should be too hard to master, but if you're not, you should try and study this accent in advance - watching the film would be a good start! You should make sure the accent also carries though to your songs, as it really does add to the character and helps to show that Nancy is a working-class girl who cannot escape her roots, even when singing. Good luck with the audition and let me know if you have any specific questions I can help you with.
@Mickie30 (2626)
29 Dec 07
Thanks so much this is really what I want so much I have buried the acting gift inside me for so long. I am now 31 and it is getting very late for me. They want Nancy to be aged 17 - 35 because she is young but looks old. I am older, but actually I look younger. I live in the UK and in my heart the desire to act is so strong. I am worried I won't get this part though due to the fact that I cannot sing well. How much does someone have to want something to get it? I fear it may always be a dream for me. I am married and have a 2 year old daughter and sometimes I feel my dream is selfish because I should be at home. I did get a Btec National Diploma in Acting but that was when I was in my early twenties and I haven't done acting for a while because it hurts too much knowing how much I want this. But, every year I see a musical and hurts a little bit more. I probably sound like a right drama queen and sorry if I do, but I suppose I would be in the right job.
30 Dec 07