Boundary issue--writing is an actual job!

United States
December 31, 2007 1:05pm CST
Ok, I am developing a strange boundary issue, or at least I think it is strange. Lately, I have started to get upset when they interfere with my writing time. Growing up, I was taught that writing is not an actual career. It was a hobby, and not a really important one like auto mechanics or sewing. Therefore, when one is writing and someone needs you (or just wants your presence) you are supposed to drop everything and fly to their aid. No matter how much it hurts your writing. This has colored my choice of careers. It wasn't until recently that I started to consider being a writer my career and job. Of course, having an extended period of unemployment and ending up having the only source of income be my writing and student loans relabeled that idea fast; if only to save some pride (otherwise it would be unemployed for three and a half years). And the implication is that I am going to college to train for a job, and am going to quit writing after I get one. That is the type of social network that I am coping with (starting with my relatives, moving to my wife and inlaws, and to some of my old friends). My newer friends have always known me as a struggling writer (we are all poor college students, they don't care). So this boundary issue I am developing--snapping at people when they interrupt my writing time is distressing, to both them and me. And it is out of character for me. I am beginning to think of writing as my actual career and job, and not just something to fill in the resume while I train for something else. So is it just me? Do other writers have this issue of people not really considering their work to be real work, and writing to be a real career choice? And was it part of your upbringing? And how have you coped with it? I have tried the quiet logic approach, explaining things to people, now I am just losing it. Any suggestions?
3 people like this
7 responses